We welcome concepts for extended essays and short books that are provocative in regard to current thinking and practice in design and thought. This is not a series for purely academic studies in design. We are committed to supporting authors from a diverse range of backgrounds and career stages. We will strive for gender parity and to diversity with a global reach.


Please send a brief proposal outlining the core concept of your project to:

Editorial Working Group

Clive Dilnot, Eduardo Staszowski (Editors), Laura Wing (Managing Editor), Andrew LeClair (Design Director), Lesley Onstott and Lucas Teixeira Vaqueiro (Social Media Designers).

Advisory Board

Mariana Amatullo, Zoy Anastassakis, Helena Barbosa, Constantin Boym, Erling Björgvinsson, Alfredo Gutierrez Borrero, Cheryl Buckley, Otto von Busch, Jonathan Chapman, Alison Clarke, Renato Cymbalista, Simon Davies, Caroline Dionne, Anthony Dunne, Michael Dutton, Arturo Escobar, Priscilla Lena Farias, Lucila Fernández, Laura Forlano, Ivan Gaskell, Anke Gruendel, Victoria Hattam, Jamer Hunt, Tim Ingold, Wolfgang Jonas, Guy Julier, Mahmoud Keshavarz, Lucy Kimbell, Pat Kirkham, Zhang Li, Ann Light, Silvia Lindtner, Abby Mellick Lopes, Ezio Manzini, Marcos Martins, Shannon Mattern, Ligia Nobre, Lara Penin, Rick Poynor, Fiona Raby, Macushla Robinson, Suresh Sethi, Anooradha Iyer Siddiqi, Virginia Tassinari, Jilly Traganou, Rashmi Viswanathan, Stuart Walker, Susan Yelavich.

Appreciation and Gratitude

We are deeply grateful to the financial support offered by the Parsons DESIS Lab at The New School and all the invaluable insights and advice from the founding members of the Editorial Working Group Otto von Busch, Caroline Dionne, Anke Gruendel, Vikki Hattam and Macushla Robinson who helped establish the series and continue to serve on the Advisory Board.

Book design: Andrew LeClair and Chris Wu of Wkshps
Website design: Andrew LeClair